Campus Writing Board

The Campus Writing Board, a campus-wide faculty committee formed in 1984, is authorized to set Campus Writing Program policy and approve courses as “Writing Intensive.” Faculty appointed by the Dean of Arts and Science and the Provost serve three-year terms on the Board, reviewing courses in one of three areas: Education and Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts, and Natural and Applied Sciences. The Board’s approval process is designed to ensure that WI courses meet the standards set forth in the Guidelines for Writing Intensive Courses, the foundational document of the Campus Writing Program. The Campus Writing Board has proved to be one of the campus’s most proactive committees. The Board continues to ensure the integrity of the WI roster of courses and implement changes to WI policy over time. 

2017-18 Campus Writing Board

Fall 2017 Meeting Dates

All meetings held at the Conley House

Educational and Social Sciences Subcommittee

Monday, September 25th 3-4pm

Monday, October 30th 12-1pm

Monday November 27th 3-4pm

Humanities and Arts Subcommittee

Monday, September 25th 10-11am

Monday, October 23rd 10 -11am

Monday, November 27th 10-11am

Natural and Applied Sciences Subcommittee

Wednesday, September 27th 10-11am

Wednesday, October 25th 10-11am

Wednesday, November 29th 10-11am

Full Campus Writing Board

Tuesday, October 10th 1-2pm

Tuesday, November 14th 1-2pm

Tuesday, December 12th 1-2pm


 2017-18 Campus Writing Board Members 

Alexandra Socarides Board Chair English

Education and Social Sciences Subcommittee

Shannon Breske 2019-2020 College of Business
Caroline Brock 2018-2019 Rural Sociology
Brian Houston 2018-2019 Communication
*Laurie Kingsley 2017-2018 Learning, Teaching & Curriculum
Soren Larsen 2019-2020 Geography
Ashlie Lester 2017-2018 Human Development & Family Studies

Humanities and Arts Subcommittee

Mamadou Badiane 2017-2018 Romance Languages & Literatures
Monika Fischer 2019-2020 German & Russian Studies
*Beverly Horvit 2017-2018 Journalism
Benyamin Schwarz 2017-2018 Architectural Studies
Julija Sukys 2018-2019 English
Ric Wilson 2018-2019 Art

Natural and Applied Sciences Subcommittee

Valerie Bader 2019-2020 Nursing
*Carolyn Orbann 2017-2018 Health Sciences
Jamille Palacios 2018-2019 Agricultural/Applied Economics
Tim Safranski 2019-2020 Animal Science
Lisa Sattenspiel 2017-2018 Anthropology

Ex-Officio (Non-Voting)

Joe Askins MU Libraries/Instructional Services
Kelly Benson College of Education/Advising
Aaron Harms Learning Center
Rachel Harper Learning Center
Becca Hayes English
Roberto Koch Registration/Enrollment Management
Jim Spain Provost's Office
Ted Tarkow Arts & Science Dean's Office
Carlynn Trout Arts & Science Dean's Office/Advising
Danna Wren ET@MO
Carla Whitney Registration/Enrollment Management

Campus Writing Program Staff (Non-Voting)

Name Phone Email
Amy Lannin, Director 573-882-1798

Lina Trigos, Coordinator 573-882-1797
Jackie Thomas, Administrative Assistant 573-882-4881

*Denotes Subcommittee Chair