Campus Writing Board

The Campus Writing Board, a campus-wide faculty committee formed in 1984, is authorized to set Campus Writing Program policy and approve courses as “Writing Intensive.” Faculty appointed by the Dean of Arts and Science and the Provost serve three-year terms on the Board, reviewing courses in one of three areas: Education and Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts, and Natural and Applied Sciences. The Board’s approval process is designed to ensure that WI courses meet the standards set forth in the Guidelines for Writing Intensive Courses, the foundational document of the Campus Writing Program. The Campus Writing Board has proved to be one of the campus’s most proactive committees. The Board continues to ensure the integrity of the WI roster of courses and implement changes to WI policy over time. 


2017-18 Campus Writing Board

Fall 2017 Meeting Dates

All meetings held at the Conley House

Educational and Social Sciences Subcommittee

Monday, September 25th 3-4pm

Monday, October 30th 12-1pm

Monday November 27th 3-4pm

Humanities and Arts Subcommittee

Monday, September 25th 10-11am

Monday, October 23rd 10 -11am

Monday, November 27th 10-11am

Natural and Applied Sciences Subcommittee

Wednesday, September 27th 10-11am

Wednesday, October 25th 10-11am

Wednesday, November 29th 10-11am

Full Campus Writing Board

Tuesday, October 10th 1-2pm

Tuesday, November 14th 1-2pm

Tuesday, December 12th 1-2pm

 


 2017-18 Campus Writing Board Members 

Alexandra Socarides Board Chair English socaridesa@missouri.edu

Education and Social Sciences Subcommittee

Shannon Breske 2019-2020 College of Business breskes@missouri.edu
Caroline Brock 2018-2019 Rural Sociology brockcc@missouri.edu
Brian Houston 2018-2019 Communication houstonjb@missouri.edu
*Laurie Kingsley 2017-2018 Learning, Teaching & Curriculum kingsleyl@missouri.edu
Soren Larsen 2019-2020 Geography larsens@missouri.edu
Ashlie Lester 2017-2018 Human Development & Family Studies lestera@missouri.edu

Humanities and Arts Subcommittee

Mamadou Badiane 2017-2018 Romance Languages & Literatures badianem@missouri.edu
Monika Fischer 2019-2020 German & Russian Studies fischerm@missouri.edu
*Beverly Horvit 2017-2018 Journalism horvitb@missouri.edu
Benyamin Schwarz 2017-2018 Architectural Studies schwarzb@missouri.edu
Julija Sukys 2018-2019 English sukysj@missouri.edu
Ric Wilson 2018-2019 Art wilsonra@missouri.edu

Natural and Applied Sciences Subcommittee

Valerie Bader 2019-2020 Nursing baderv@missouri.edu
*Carolyn Orbann 2017-2018 Health Sciences orbannc@missouri.edu
Jamille Palacios 2018-2019 Agricultural/Applied Economics palaciosriveraj@missouri.edu
Tim Safranski 2019-2020 Animal Science safranskit@missouri.edu
Lisa Sattenspiel 2017-2018 Anthropology sattenspiell@missouri.edu

Ex-Officio (Non-Voting)

Joe Askins MU Libraries/Instructional Services askinsj@missouri.edu
Kelly Benson College of Education/Advising bensonkl@missouri.edu
Aaron Harms Learning Center harmsaa@missouri.edu
Rachel Harper Learning Center harperrp@missouri.edu
Becca Hayes English hayesrj@missouri.edu
Roberto Koch Registration/Enrollment Management kochra@missouri.edu
Jim Spain Provost's Office spainj@missouri.edu
Ted Tarkow Arts & Science Dean's Office tarkowt@missouri.edu
Carlynn Trout Arts & Science Dean's Office/Advising troutc@missouri.edu
Danna Wren ET@MO vesselld@missouri.edu
Carla Whitney Registration/Enrollment Management whitneycm@missouri.edu

Campus Writing Program Staff (Non-Voting)

Name Phone Email
Amy Lannin, Director 573-882-1798

lannina@missouri.edu

Lina Trigos, Coordinator 573-882-1797 trigoscarrillol@missouri.edu
Jackie Thomas, Administrative Assistant 573-882-4881

thomasjm@missouri.edu

*Denotes Subcommittee Chair