Campus Writing Board

The Campus Writing Board, a campus-wide faculty committee formed in 1984, is authorized to set Campus Writing Program policy and approve courses as “Writing Intensive.” Faculty serve three-year terms on the Board, reviewing courses in one of three areas: Education and Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts, and Natural and Applied Sciences. The Board’s approval process is designed to ensure that WI courses meet the standards set forth in the Guidelines for Writing Intensive Courses, the foundational document of the Campus Writing Program. The Campus Writing Board has proved to be one of the campus’s most proactive committees. The Board continues to ensure the integrity of the WI roster of courses and implement changes to WI policy over time.

Campus Writing Board Meetings

The Campus Writing Board meets approximately 6 times per semester.  Each Board member will attend 3 subcommittee meetings and 3 full Board meetings.

  • Campus Writing Board AY 2022-23 Meeting Schedule and Minutes

Becoming a Campus Writing Board Member

Campus Writing Board Membership Guide

2022-2023 Campus Writing Board

First NameLast NameTerm EndsDepartment
Campus Writing Board Chair   
Education and Social Sciences Subcommittee   
AmandaAlexander2023-2024Applied Social Science
GinnyRamseyer-Winter2024-2025Social Work
Humanities and Arts Subcommittee   
JamesVan Dyke2024-2025School of Visual Studies
*TimLangen2022-2023Languages and Literatures
PeterLea2024-2025School of Music
Natural and Applied Sciences Subcommittee   
ClaireAltman2023-2024Health Sciences
SarahOrton2023-2024Civil/Environmental Engineering
RobinRotman2023-2024Natural Resources
MannieLiscum2024-2025Biological Science
Ex-Officio (Non-Voting)   
CherylHall Director of Composition
DellaRodenbaughUndergraduate Student Representative
AnnikaRader Undergraduate Student Representative
AaronHarms Writing Center Director
KellyHoltkamp Teaching for Learning Center
ErmalHoxhaGraduate Student Representative
BrandonHaskey-ValeriusGraduate Student Representative
JosephDecker Graduate Student Representative
RobertoKoch Registration/Enrollment Management
NicoleMonnier Arts & Science Dean’s Office
KimberlyMoeller Librarian III, Instructional Services and Social Sciences Librarian
AlexSocaridesAssociate Provost for Academic Programs
JimSpain Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies
CarlaWhitney Registration/Enrollment Management
JeannettePierce Librarian IV, Associate University Librarian for Research, Access, and Instructional Services
CarlynnTrout Advisor’s Forum
Campus Writing Program Staff (Non-Voting)   
AmyLannin Director
ChristyGoldsmith Associate Director
JulieBirt Coordinator
EmilyStagg Project Manager