Campus Writing Program Teaching Awards

Nominations Due April 1, 2020.


Each spring, the Campus Writing Program recognizes contributions to outstanding WI teaching on MU’s campus through two awards: The Win Horner Award and the Writing Intensive Excellence Award. Winners will be recognized at CWP’s annual Spring Awards Ceremony. Sponsored by the Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies.

2018 teaching award winners
2018 Award Winners – Rachel Lomanaco-Benzing, Andy Winholtz, Andrew Clarke, Sam Otten, Claire Altman. Not pictured: Adam Cletzer

The Win Horner Award for Innovative Writing Intensive Teaching. $1,500

Purpose: Dr. Horner was a nationally known and respected pioneer in “writing across the curriculum” and chaired the Composition Task Force that formed MU’s Campus Writing Program. Preference is given to faculty who demonstrate the same pioneering spirit in their teaching of Writing Intensive courses through developing a new and innovative WI course or implementing new approaches within their teaching.

The Writing Intensive Excellence Award. $500

Purpose: To recognize outstanding WI teaching that helps achieve the mission of Writing to Learn and Learning to Write within the disciplines.